January 30 – Put the $6/$12 in Action

Had not planned on playing tonight, because I was beaten down from the work week, and the thought of going outside in the cold made me want to curl up in a blanked and play online in my bed.  But, when I saw the $6/$12 game going and Live, I decided to tough it out and head on over.  As a backup, I planned on going up to Horseshoe to play the pink chip mix, which actually had two tables going.  But, since O8 is my favorite, I wound up at Live.

Game had several regulars, as well as some new faces.  I was owned by one of the noobs who smashed my JT65 BB special after a JJ6 flop, when I found an ace on the river to complete his AJXX hand.  I was off to a crummy start, didn’t win a pot for over an hour, and was quickly stuck about $275.

The hand that turned things around for me was an EP limp with As3s4x6x , that hit its bingo flop of 7s5x2x.  I ended up hitting running spades to scoop, and I was off to the raises.  A few other scoops, and a couple splits in large pots, and I was ahead.

I was also called out for pulling the “Phil Hellmuth Insta-Shove” move (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C_JuOu-D4Z4).  I had raised out of the blind with AdKdTx2x, picked up like 5 callers, and flopped KxTx4h.  I bet, and of course 4 guys call.  Turn was the scary Qh, but I fired anyway, only to get raised by the nit on my immediate left.  I mutter something nasty under my breath, and make an easy call (I know I’m better than 10-1 even if half my scoop outs are dead).  Amazingly, a Tx jumps out on the river, and I Hellmuth bet.  Good times!

So, the first month of the challenge is over, and I feel like I played pretty well.  I have to go through my app on my phone to get an hourly for the challenge, but I’m sure it is pretty high.  I’m still motivated to play, and I hope to keep my run-good going.

Session +$227/Challenge +1740

2 thoughts on “January 30 – Put the $6/$12 in Action

  1. Ha. I’m the newb who called out yor helmuth impression.

    How was the game after I left? (Around 2am). Did the old guy two to your left eventuallly go broke?

    Like

Leave a comment