March 1 – Day 2, Event 2 at WSOP-C

I was a touch nervous heading into Day 2.  We had 290 players left, and top 252 would get paid.  I know I’m not supposed to worry about cashing, but it seriously sucks to grind a live tournament for two days, suffer through 4 hours of back and forth driving, and still go home empty handed.  But whatever–I know what I’m supposed to do, so if I bust, so be it.

Table was extremely short stacked—nobody had over 100k, and the chip avg was like 88k!  The day was really pretty terrible for me.  I held AK and 55, and picked up pots.  Had an interesting one at 1200/2400 when I had 73k.  I opened ep with AQ to 5500, and a quiet older guy jammed mp to 30k.  I tanked for a bit, but decided this was a good time to gamble.  I called, and he showed AQs.  The guy picked up a flush draw on the turn, and somehow missed, so we chopped.  Shortly thereafter, the bubble broke, and the donks cheered.  Later, A shorty jammed 25k, and I called quickly with AJ.  He had A8, and he snapped off an 8 on the river.  Great!  Later, I played what can actually be described as a sick pot.  With 40k at 1500/3000, a guy who barely covered me opens for 7k, I snap jam 77, another guy who barely covered me snap called, and the original raiser called.  They showed AK and 44!  Sweet.  Until the board ran out…66996!  3-way chop!  The blinds went through me at 2k/4k, and I ultimately jammed Q9s into ATs of the A8 guy from earlier.  No help, and I was busted in 200-something place.

Very disappointing, but that’s how tournaments usually go.  I don’t play many NLHE tourneys, and this really reminded me why…you almost always wind up disappointed.

With that in mind, I’ll be back on Tuesday to fire the HORSE tournament.  I’ve had some super results playing HORSE online, against some pretty tough fields…so I’m hoping for some good breaks then.

Leave a comment